President Buhari Swears In Justice Ariwoola As CJN



President Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in Justice Olukayode Ariwoola as the official Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN).

The swearing-in ceremony reportedly took place on Wednesday before the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting started.

Yemi Osinbajo, the vice president, Seyi Makinde, the governor of Oyo State, and Rotimi Akeredolu, the governor of Ondo State, were present for the swearing-in.

Other participants in the ceremony included additional Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, Boss Mustapha, Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan, Chief of the Federal Civil Service, Professor Ibrahim Bambari, Chief of Staff to the President, and Maj. Gen. Babagana Monguno, National Security Advisor (NSA) (Rtd).

Hadi Sirika (Aviation); Olorunnimbe Mamora (Science, Technology, and Innovation); Chris Ngige (Labour and Employment); Abubakar Malami (Attorney-General and Justice); Niyi Adebayo (Industry, Trade, and Investment); Babatunde Fashola (Works and Housing); Abubakar Aliyu, and others were also present.

While speaking to reporters following the event, Justice Ariwoola urged politicians in the country to enable the judiciary to work properly as the 2023 elections near, while vowing improvements at the supreme court.

In his statement, Oyo State Governor Makinde extended appreciation to President Buhari on behalf of the people and administration of Oyo State.

Follow Us On